Allan Slaight Awards

Award Categories

The Allan Slaight Awards are distributed over five distinct categories: Sharing Wonder (Live or Digital), Sharing Secrets, International Rising Star, Canadian Rising Star, and Lifetime Achievement. In addition, the awards come with cash prizes totalling $50,000 per year:

Lifetime Achievement $15,000
Sharing Wonder $15,000
Sharing Secrets $10,000
International Rising Star $ 5,000
Canadian Rising Star $ 5,000


Past Recipients



The Lifetime Achievement category recognizes a person, company or organization that has demonstrated a commitment to advancing magic as a performing art and made major contributions to that goal throughout their or its lifetime.

The Sharing Wonder category recognizes the most innovative performance of magic over the past year, either in live performance or a digital medium. The goal is to recognize exceptional performances, by exceptional artists.

The Sharing Secrets award recognizes exceptionally creative, innovative or well-presented (live, in print, or digital) work that advance the study of magic as a performing art. The focus is on the techniques that magicians use or can use to advance the work. Works related to the history of magic and its practitioners will also be considered in this category.

The International Rising Star award recognizes emerging talent, and a separate Rising Star award will be given to an emerging Canadian talent.



The word “magic” includes ancillary subjects such as illusions, mentalism and sleight-of-hand, and any other branch that can be considered to fall under the broad rubric of magic.

The Allan Slaight Awards are international in scope. Magicana accepts submissions from performers, creators, writers, designers, and anyone else with an interest in magic, wherever they reside or perform. One can submit his or her own work for consideration, or the work of any other individual or organization.

Here is a short list of eligibility:

  • Nominations for the Allan Slaight Awards are open to performers, creators, publishers, historians and consultants in magic and its related disciplines worldwide.
  • Nominations in the category of Sharing Wonder and Sharing Secrets must be for work performed, published, produced or released between January 1 and December 31 of the awarding year.
  • Nominations for Rising Star (Canadian and International) and for Lifetime Achievement can be based on work over the career of the nominee.
  • Nominees must be at least eighteen years of age as of December 31 of the awarding year.
  • Nominees for Canadian Rising Star must be Canadian citizens as of December 31 of the awarding year.
  • An individual is permitted to make up to one nomination per category per year. One individual can be nominated by different people in more than one category.
  • Employees and directors of Magicana are not eligible.

More questions? Check our the Frequently Asked Questions area.